Startseite

Green Business Switzerland
c/o Schweizerische Umweltstiftung
Anton-Julius-Eggstein-Gasse 3
6005 Luzern

 

Phone +41 41 420 11 10
info@greenbusiness.ch

 

Linkedin

Lombard Odier Portfolio Temperature Alignment (LOPTA)
Lombard Odier
Scroll-down Scroll down

How would you describe your solution?

Worldwide, governments and industries are establishing emissions-reduction targets that are often aligned with restricting global warming to 1.5-2°C above pre-industrial levels. Without a way of anticipating the future carbon intensity of their investments, investors are effectively flying blind through a necessary structural change in the economy.

 

LOPTA offers investors a clear view of the risks and opportunities inherent in the climate transition and enables them to focus on companies that are aligned with the Paris Agreement. Ultimately, investors can build portfolios with an overall temperature trajectory that is part of the net-zero solution.

Who are your customers?

Institutional investors (such as pension funds), wealth-management firms and individual investors seeking investment strategies and analytical tools enabling them to invest successfully throughout the climate transition.

 

 

What are the environmental benefits of your solution? 

LOPTA enables us to direct investment capital towards carbon-intensive yet Paris-aligned companies that are critical to the economy as well as the climate transition. We define these businesses as ‘ice cubes’. They are misinterpreted by many climate-focused funds as high-risk laggards due to their current emissions intensity. A number of these businesses operate in emissions-intensive sectors, such as energy and utilities, where decarbonisation progress is vital to achieving a net-zero economy.

 

Source: LOIM analysis; for illustrative purposes only © Lombar Odier

LOPTA also allows us to avoid ‘burning logs’: companies with high emissions and a high temperature which are most responsible for climate change and most at risk in the climate transition.

How do you manage to exist on the market? 

The Financial Stability Board’s Task Force on Climate-Related Financial Disclosures (TCFD) has recognized our LOPTA tool as a leading temperature alignment tool.

 

 

Nominated Solution: LOPTA

Company: Lombard Odier

Further information: www.lombardodier.com/rethinksustainability

 

Managing Partners Denis Pittet, Patrick Odier, Hubert Keller, Frédéric Rochat, Annika Falkengren and Alexandre Zeller (from left to right) © Lombar Odier

Startseite

Green Business Switzerland
c/o Schweizerische Umweltstiftung
Anton-Julius-Eggstein-Gasse 3
6005 Luzern

 

Phone +41 41 420 11 10
info@greenbusiness.ch

 

Linkedin

Lombard Odier Portfolio Temperature Alignment (LOPTA)
Lombard Odier
Scroll-down Scroll down

Wie beschreiben Sie Ihre Lösung in wenigen Worten?

Auf der ganzen Welt beschliessen Regierungen und Branchen Vorgaben zur Reduzierung von Emissionen, die häufig auf eine Beschränkung der Erderwärmung auf 1,5 – 2°C im Vergleich zum vorindustriellen Zeitalter abzielen. Ohne eine Methode zur Prognose der zukünftigen Kohlenstoffintensität ihrer Anlagen müssen Investoren letztlich ganz ohne Orientierungspunkte mit diesem notwendigen Strukturwandel in der Branche zurechtkommen.

 

LOPTA bietet Anlegern einen Überblick bezüglich der Risiken und Chancen der Klimawende und ermöglicht es ihnen, sich auf Unternehmen zu konzentrieren, die im Einklang mit dem Pariser Abkommen stehen. Dadurch können Anleger letzten Endes Portfolios aufbauen, deren Auswirkungen dem Temperaturanstieg der Netto-Null-Lösung entsprechen.

Wer sind Ihre Kunden?

Institutionelle Anleger (wie Pensionskassen), Vermögensverwalter und private Anleger sind auf der Suche nach Anlagestrategien und Analysewerkzeugen, die es ihnen ermöglichen, während der Klimawende erfolgreich zu investieren.

 

 

Welchen Nutzen bringt Ihre Lösung für die Umwelt?

Dank LOPTA können wir unser Anlagekapital auf kohlenstoffintensive und doch Pariser-Abkommen-konforme Unternehmen konzentrieren, die sowohl für die Wirtschaft als auch die Klimawende unabdingbar sind. Solche Unternehmen bezeichnen wir als „Eiswürfel“. Sie werden aufgrund ihrer aktuellen Emissionsintensität von zahlreichen Fonds mit Klimafokus als hochriskante Nachzügler missverstanden. Einige dieser Unternehmen sind in emissionsintensiven Sektoren wie Energie und Versorgung tätig, in denen Fortschritte bei der Dekarbonisierung für den Übergang zu einer emissionsneutralen Wirtschaft von zentraler Bedeutung sind.

Quelle: LOIM-Analyse; nur zur Veranschaulichung © Lombar Odier

LOPTA hilft uns ausserdem, „brennende Holzscheite“ zu vermeiden – das sind Unternehmen, die viele Emissionen freisetzen und stark zum Temperaturanstieg beitragen und somit die Hauptverantwortlichen für den Klimawandel und im Zuge der Klimawende den grössten Risiken ausgesetzt sind.

Wie schaffen Sie es, auf dem Markt zu bestehen?

Die Task Force on Climate-Related Financial Disclosures (TCFD) des Financial Stability Board hat unser LOPTA-Tool als eines der führenden Werkzeuge zur Ausrichtung auf die Temperaturziele anerkannt.

 

Nominierte Lösung: LOPTA

Firma: Lombard Odier

Weitere Informationen: www.lombardodier.com/rethinksustainability

 

Geschäftsführende Teilhaber*innen Denis Pittet, Patrick Odier, Hubert Keller, Frédéric Rochat, Annika Falkengren und Alexandre Zeller (v.l.n.r. ) © Lombar Odier